New Adult

When I first heard the term New Adult, I was sceptical. It didn’t seem to make sense. New Adult? What’s a one of them? But, after thinking about it, I suppose it makes sense. These books are books for people who have just become adults, so I suppose you could call them new adults. So, it does make sense. I wasn’t sure if I was going to read the genre, I have too much Chick Lit to read along with the odd crime novel and young adult novel and I just wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to fit a new genre into my reading schedule, which is already tighter than I’d like it to be. In reality, I’d like to be reducing the 350+ books on the to be read shelf, rather than adding to it (which will never, ever happen; I am always buying new books).

But then I read Easy by Tammara Webber and I loved it. Then I read Reason To Breathe by Rebecca Donovan and I loved it and I saw that the New Adult genre was basically talking to me! Young Adult is generally about teenagers, Chick Lit about grown ups, but New Adult, New Adult is the middle bit between the two! The heroines are generally in their twenties, like me, and it’s ACE. I’ve since read Losing It by Cora Carmack and The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen, and oh my God, I love this genre! So much. I love the girls. I love the boys (oh, the boys! Garrick, Micha… all of ’em).

The New Adult genre has really taken off. Previously self-published authors are suddenly being offered book deals left, right and center as publishers find a market for these books about twenty-somethings (isn’t it rather silly, though, that it took until now for publishers to find a book market that suits twenty-somethings?) and are desperate to be getting onto the New Adult bandwagon, and what a wagon it is. My Amazon wishlist has trebled, I’m learning about new authors on a daily basis, and all of the books sound utterly amazing. I am craving New Adult daily, and I’d love to read it for all three days I’m off, but I’ve settled for it being just once a week, otherwise I’d no longer be reading Chick Lit, and I still love Chick Lit.

My light for New Adult is burning brightly. I really hope the genre continues to thrive because it makes sense. It’s the perfect genre for me, the perfect genre for the millions of twenty-somethings around the world, and there are so many authors out there who are finally having a voice. A loud, booming voice. Long may it continue because I LOVED it!

One thought on “New Adult

Leave a Reply

