Night Shifts

When my boss Fiona asked me a couple of weeks ago how I felt about nightshifts, I told her I was totally up for it. It seemed like win-win for me: I can spend days in the house by myself, read more books as long as I manage to sleep correctly, and I can actually get stuff done at work. When you’re working during the day there’s always customers to chat to, and it’s great, I love interacting with customers, but you sometimes feel like you get nothing at all done. A nightshift means 8 hours spent filling the shelves – well, 6 hours for me as I cash up for the other 2 hours (yes, I can do the morning cash and the evening cash in 2 hours flat, something that normally takes 3 and a half hours when you split it in 2!). 

It was meant to start next week, but Kenny our area manager wasn’t happy with the amount of stock we had in the warehouse so Fiona started it early, and we’ve had 4 nightshifts this week, 3 of which I’ve been part of, and let me tell you, it’s great! There’s three of us who are going to do the nightshift, me, Jordan and Simon but Sonic has been helping us out before he went on holiday and we’ve got LOADS done. I’m talking pallets and pallets of stock. We’ve done like 13 pallets along with numerous trolleys. The shop looks so much fuller now and this is definitely the way forward.

The only thing that worried me about nightshifts was the lack of sleep. I LOVE my sleep. I think it’s a Geordie thing. I just love my bed. So I was worried the lack of sleep during the early hours would cripple me the next day but it hasn’t. I have found a formula. I get in at about 6.30 a.m. go straight to bed and either sleep til mid-day if I’m not working the next day or sleep til 2 or 3 p.m. if I am working the next day. Then I can spend the afternoons reading and catching up on TV, it’s ace. I can watch the football and the formula one, it’s just the best idea ever, and I love it so far. The hours don’t drag at all, even though I thought they might, and the banter is brilliant. I will miss the rest of the staff especially as we’ll only ever see the late-shifters for 10 or so minutes before they leave and we start. So, yeah, I’m loving it so far.

The nightshifts also mean I eat less, because I spend more time sleeping during the day and less time awake and eating and I don’t even feel hungry during the night because my body thinks it’s asleep (or thinks it’s meant to be asleep) and I have now lost 5kg. Go me! This is the longest I have ever been on a diet and y’know what? It isn’t as bad as I thought and I’m not missing chocolate as much as I thought I would, so yeah. 

I’m now off until Thursday night, woooooooohooooooooooooo!!!

Leave a Reply

