My New Year’s Resolutions

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

I had a really great Christmas. I got two new Manchester United shirts (12/13 home & away shirts, and the home shirt has “Giggs” on the back!), some bits and bobs, Loverdose, the perfume (it’s gorgeous!) and, my most prized possession  my beautiful, blue iPod touch 5. It is the best thing ever. I love it.

I’d like to say my New Year was just as great, but it wasn’t. We had a stock-take at work on Sunday and I wasn’t feeling right at all. I had a bad belly, and when everyone went for a drink afterwards I stuck to coke because I just didn’t fancy alcohol at all. I spent the afternoon in bed, dozing and going to the toilet. I started at 6 a.m. on Monday which was excruciatingly hard to get up for because I just didn’t sleep at all on Sunday night. I felt so bad that I had to go home at 10 a.m. on Monday, the first time I’ve ever gone home sick. I spent Monday asleep, and the only reason I saw in midnight was because my sister woke me up. I was dead to the world before that, sweating like a pig. New Years Day was just the same, but a bit better. I managed to eat a bit of dinner, though when I say bit, I mean bit. I feel better today. Not 100% but better. I’m back at work tomorrow and I’m at least more alive than I was. I think it was the Noro Virus that’s going around. It’s weird, because I’m rarely ill.

2013 is now upon us. Who’d have thought it? I spent it watching the fireworks in London on the TV, and telling my parents that one day I will go to London to see in the New Year, because that was a stunning firework display. STUNNING. I was mighty impressed. It means everyone is making their resolutions for the year ahead and I am no different. Here are my resolutions:

+ Pass my driving test.
+ Get fitter.
+ Go back to England in July and see my sister, Sam, get married.
+ Make 2013 a great year.
+ Read more physical books than Kindle books in 2013.
+ Keep learning at Iceland, and be the best I can be while at work.

Most are quite self-explanatory, really. I want to be able to drive in Tenerife more than anything. I HATE waiting for the bus day in, day out. Passing my test is the first hurdle, but it’s the mega one. Once that’s done, I at least have my licence. I want to get fitter. It’s something that I vow to do every year, but if my illness has proven anything it’s that I can give up chocolate if I want to and it’s not as difficult as I thought it would be. I’m going to start walking my dogs more, down on the motorway they’re building, maybe see if I can get a bike and cycle it when I hate early shifts/days off.

My sister, Sam, is getting married in July. I’ve booked the week off and I’d love to go and see her get married. 2012 wasn’t particularly an exciting year, so I want to make 2013 memorable. I’m going to take more pictures with my new iPod touch, and just go out a bit more, maybe. It seems that I read LOADS of Kindle e-books in 2012, so I want to get my physical books down because I have hundreds of them.

Finally, I want to keep doing as good as I’m doing at Iceland. I love my job there, and I feel so lucky to have it, and I just want to learn every aspect of the job.

So, that’s my 2013. What’s your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

