The weather

I don’t normally discuss the weather – I live in Tenerife and it’s pretty much always sunny. Always. Tenerife is on the equator and as such, we get very little rain. This year we’ve had even less rain than most years. According to my mother, it last rained in February, but it last rained properly last November which is a year ago.

It’s been raining today. It started on Sunday. It rained before I started work at 7 a.m., and then when I finished at 4 p.m. it was chucking it down again. I had to buy an umbrella from work, and it was just continuous until about 45 minutes later. It was sunny on Monday when I went for my medical and then these past two days have been rain, rain, and more rain. It rained solid from about 5 a.m. this morning until 1 p.m. It hasn’t rained much this afternoon/evening but it’s meant to last for a few more days yet.

Lemme tell you, Tenerife is ugly when it rains. In the sun everything seems to be bright and sparkly, but in the rain it just looks like England basically. But muddier and with slippier roads. I’m not a big fan of the rain. Yes, I like that it provides (welcome) relief from the constant sun, but when there’s rain, there’s almost certainly thunder, at least as far as the rain in Tenerife. I am utterly petrified of thunder and lightning. It’s something that has scared me for as long as I can remember. It’s so bad that I basically stay under the covers every time it thunders. It’s easier to manage during the day – it’s light, I can watch TV, but it’s awful on an evening when everyone’s in bed and I can’t put any lights on or the TV on in case I wake up my mam, dad or sister.

Funnily enough, before we moved to Tenerife we wanted to move to Florida and can you imagine me living in Florida being as terrified as I am of thunder and lightning? It would be madness. I wouldn’t ever go anywhere because it thunders almost every day in Florida. I loved going there on holiday, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t think I could ever live there without being hypnotised or summat.

So, yeah, the only time I will ever talk about the weather is when it’s like this and it’s horrible. Good, but horrible.

In other news, I’m back at work tomorrow (three days off is like a week’s holiday, I am not joking!) and I am thinking of giving up junk food altogether. I’m not a big fan of how I look at the moment, my work uniform is pinching, and I just know I would feel better if I was a bit healthier. But, I suck at dieting. I’m a fussy eater as it is, without removing all of the things I love – bread, micro chips, crisps, chocolate, but I don’t want to get any bigger and I would like to be more comfortable in my skin and my uniform, so we’ll see. I can only try, right?

Leave a Reply

