May the odds be ever in your favour…

When I was in England in March, I knew The Hunger Games was on at the cinema and I obviously HAD to go and see it. I adore the books. Like, seriously, love them. The blew me away even though if you’d said to me beforehand I’d have loved them I would have laughed at you ‘cos they’re certainly not my usual read. But, anyway, I love them. 

I was really excited for the movie. I know that generally movies don’t live up to the books, except for Harry Potter. But I was still excited and so one night me and my cousin Anne went to see it. I LOVED IT. You know when you watch a film and it’s EXACTLY how you wanted it to be? Exactly how you imagined? Yeah. That. I felt that the producers, the director, the actors, they just GOT the book and they made it into a visual experience to savour. The Rue bit made me cry, in the middle of the cinema. It was all just perfect. 

As soon as it became available for DVD, I pre-ordered it and it arrived a few days ago and this is the first day off I’ve had since it came (boo!) and so I watched it today. I was a bit worried it wouldn’t be the same. That the gloss will have worn off, I would spot errors I didn’t see before etc. IT WAS EXACTLY THE SAME. Exactly the same. I STILL found myself fearful for Katniss and I still felt SO emotional when she volunteered and when the Rue bit happened. It was like I was re-watching it for the first time if that makes sense. That I’d never ever seen it before and it hit me again and again the same way it had in the cinema. 

I know some people weren’t happy with the film, but I loved it. It was simply exquisite. Jennifer Lawrence was BORN to play Katniss. I absolutely adored Josh Hutcherson (I want to marry him) and then all the adult actors – Lenny Kravitz, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland, all perfect. It was everything I wanted it to be and I didn’t find it lacking in any way whatsoever. It was literally perfect. 

I can’t wait for the sequels. I can’t believe we have to wait so long for Catching Fire, but I’m sure it will be well worth it. Mind, by the time it comes out, I’ll have seen The Hunger Games thousands of times because it’s just SO watchable. It was just awesome and I want to thank the makers for being so faithful to the book, it is the best book-to-movie adaptation ever.

