Cool Runnings

I often wonder what my favourite movie is. For a long time that answer was Armageddon, I could watch it and watch it and watch it and without fail I would cry every. single. time. Bruce Willis shoves Ben Affleck back into the pod so he can detonate the bomb himself, so Ben can go home to Liv Tyler. (They do have characters names, but I forgot them.) However, I don’t really think that’s my favourite movie. I haven’t watched it in aaaaages. 

Next up would be Big Daddy, which is a massive contender. Big Daddy is perhaps Adam Sandler’s best movie, at least as far as I’m concerned (it makes me kind of sad that, like Jim Carrey, Adam Sandler’s movies have gotten progressively worse and it seems his oldies are his goodies). Big Daddy is just brilliant. It makes me cry, too, but it also makes me laugh as Sonny tries to take care of Julian (or Frankenstein as he likes to be known). 

Third would be The Proposal. It’s a new movie, released in 2009 I think it was, but it was an insta-favourite. Everything Sandra Bullock does is awesome (Miss Congeniality!) but in The Proposal she’s just epic as Margaret, a book publisher. She makes Drew her assistant go out with her so she doesn’t get deported to Canada and they end up having to go to Alaska for Drew’s grandmother’s birthday. Drew is played by Ryan Reynolds and since watching that movie, I’ve fallen totally in love with Ryan Reynolds. The movie is hilarious, and I’ve seen it about 5 times already and it just doesn’t get old. Betty White is epic in the movie as Gammy. 

Another movie I’ve watched recently (and the reason for this Tumblr post) is Cool Runnings. I watched it years and years ago. Then I saw it was going to on BBC One so I recorded it on Sky and watched it last year. It was on Sky Movies earlier this week and I watched it again. It is one of the funniest, most touching movies I’ve ever watched. It’s based on the 1988 Jamaican Bobsled team and four Jamaican’s try to get themselves to the Olympics as Bobsledders led by John Candy, who is a disgraced coach (though, I hasten to add, that bit is entirely fictional). Everyone is against them (again, fictional) but they persevere. Watching it again reminded me JUST HOW GOOD IT IS. It makes me cry at the end (you’ll have to watch it to see why) and it’s just so good. I think Cool Runnings could be my favourite movie and I could watch it again right now. It makes me sad this was one of John Candy’s last movies as he died in 1994, but boy was it a good movie. 

Yes, those are some of my favourite movies and if you’ve never seen/heard of Cool Runnings then you need to go purchase it because it is awesome. So so so so so so good!

