Football Round-Up

So I got ill last week which meant I missed writing about three(!) Manchester United matches, plus a brilliant Spurs vs Liverpool match, so here goes:

Benfica 1 – 1 Man Utd: Our first game of this season’s Champions League (boy is it good to have that anthem back) saw us travel to the Stadium Of Light (no, not that one) to play Benfica. It wasn’t our best performance ever, but as far as away performances go and away performances in Portugal against Benfica, well it was alright. We drew 1-1, after going down 1-0 to a Benfica goal before Giggsy pulled us back level. We didn’t really deserve to win; in fact, Benfica probably did, if I’m honest, but I was happy with a draw and we next face Basel next week.

Man Utd 3 – 1 Chelsea: One of the most nervous, tense 3-1 wins I will ever watch IN MY LIFE. I hate when we play Chelsea. Despite their aging players and their alleged slowness, Chelsea always bring their best when they’re playing us and bring their best they did. We were lucky to win, and lucky that we took our chances when we had, because on any other day, Chelsea would have won easily. We weren’t that terrible, and most of Chelsea’s dominance was due to our own sloppy play, but we were still very lucky. At 0-0 De Gea pulled off a wonder save and then before you knew it, it was half-time and we were 3-0 up thanks to a Chris Smalling header, a Nani wonder goal (mega good) and a Wayne Rooney goal that ricocheted off Nani after some good play from Phil Jones.

The 2nd half began and Torres scored within about 60 seconds. Seriously, he just waltzed into the box as if no one else was there and lobbed the ball over De Gea. I was nervous. Chelsea could smell my fear, I’m sure and they did lay siege somewhat and when Torres got the ball and easily rounded De Gea to have an empty net… Well, I feared the worst. Rooney had missed a penalty (I’m sure it was before Torres’ miss) by “doing a John Terry” with the ball at his mercy and so it felt the God’s were against us. All Fernando Torres had to do was slot the ball into the EMPTY NET and the game would be on its head. But, er, Torres missed. Spectacularly. So spectacularly that I didn’t know whether to cheer for his misfortune or gape in wonder at how he’d missed. I mean IT WAS ON! Chelsea would have been back 3-2! AND HE MISSED! HE MISSED!!! It was shocking, but one thing’s for sure, Torres IS back. Thankfully(!) we saw the game out and I breathed a massive sigh of relief.

Leeds 0 – 3 Man Utd: I admit, when I saw the team sheet for the match against Leeds I feared the worst. Leeds aren’t that bad these days and I felt Sir Alex was taking the mickey. Carrick at the centre of defence? KIDS PLAYING??? KIDS I’D NEVER HEARD OF??? We also had Owen, Berbatov, Park, Giggs and Valencia playing plus more kids. So I expected Leeds to give us a test. But they didn’t. Leeds were crap, frankly. And we ran out 3-0 winners with two goals from Owen and one goal from Giggsy. (Another wonder goal, even if it was deflected). It was a quiet night, all in all, actually, and Simon Grayson was right when he said Leeds could have played a lot better.

Spurs 4 – 0 Liverpool: Just a short one for this: Spurs were amazing, Liverpool were undisciplined (and that’s putting it nicely) and Modric scored a screamer. It was a brilliant game, even better since Liverpool imploded and that’s always good to watch. I thought Spurs were out of the top 4 race after being somewhat drubbed by United and City, but they impressed against Liverpool who aren’t necessarily shabby themselves and who knows? If Arsenal continue to flounder and Liverpool continue to be a mess discipline wise, Spurs could finish in the top 4 again. I’d like that. I like Spurs. Harry has a decent team together.

Leave a Reply

