Premier League 2011/2012: Bolton 0 – 5 Manchester United

Boy, you will never know how excited I am that the Premier League is back. I know it’s only been a fortnight, due to an International break (I can’t be the only one who hates International Breaks during the season, can I?), but I always miss it so much when it’s gone because it’s just not the same to watch Internationals all weekend. For one, I’m on full-on panic mode to make sure no one gets injured.

Ours was the late game today so I had to sit and watch City, Arsenal and Chelsea win, whilst Liverpool lost to Stoke, Villa and Everton shared the spoils and Spurs got points on the board for the first time this season. We were playing Bolton away, not an easy task particularly since we struggled away last season and Bolton are a different team under Owen Coyle (a manager I admire hugely).

However, sadly for Bolton, we were on tip-top form tonight and thrashed Bolton 5-0. Rooney scored a second hat-trick in a row with Javier Hernandez coming back into the starting line-up with a bang and scoring two goals. We also kept a clean sheet, and my confidence in De Gea is growing. Actually, it isn’t. But I can pretend it is, right? I mean, eventually, I will have confidence in De Gea… I was mightily impressed with our performance and it’s quite impressive just how quickly the new lads have gelled and just how quickly we’ve switched on the style and the speed. Everyone said we weren’t at our best last year – and at times it was true, I think if Chelsea hadn’t had their slump after Ray Wilkins left, they’d have run us closer – but this year we’re like a house on fire.

Our defence looks brilliant so far, especially with Vidic being out and Ferdinand just back; Jones has fitted into the team as if he’s been there forever and Evans is looking assured again after a difficult season last season. The midfield is the surprise package though. Anderson has really taken on the mantle since Scholesy retired and he’s very much cemented his place in the centre of midfield. Nani and Young look assured and anchored on the wings and Cleverly has done brilliantly – until he went off injured, a suspected broken foot, Carrick came on for him and he’s always rock solid, although he probably takes a bit of pace out. Our strikeforce is on fire. What does it say that Berbatov hasn’t started yet? Sure, it’s only 4 games, but this is Dimitar Berbatov, our top scorer last year (if I remember correctly, anyway – he scored a bucketful, either way). Rooney has just continued where he left off, ditto Hernandez and Welbeck has been excellent and I can’t wait ’til he comes back.

Then you have to think about who we have on the bench – Owen, Giggs(!), Berbatov, Lindegaard, Smalling, the Da Silva twins, Park Ji Sung…We have a special team at the minute and that’s good, because September is busy! We have weekend and mid-week fixtures all through September so we’re going to need everyone this season. Do I think we can beat Barcelona? Hard to tell, but there’s more to us this season than there was last, though really, I’m more concerned with keeping our pesky neighbours AWAY from our Premier League trophy. That’s my first concern and so far, we’re 4 for 4 and we’re looking good and I hope we can continue it against Chelsea next Sunday and Benfica this Wednesday. (Though mainly Chelsea, who are looking decent, even if they’re not exactly setting the world alight so far…)

Leave a Reply

