Premier League 2011/2012 Preview

The new Premier League season gets under way next weekend (let me hear you all say “Woohoo!”). Twenty teams will go head-to-head in 39 games each – 18 at home, 18 away – and come May 2012, someone will be crowned Premier League Champions. Not to mention the FA Cup, Carling Cup, Champions League and Europa League (I really preferred the UEFA Cup).

Here are the teams: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn, Bolton, Chelsea, Everton, Fulham, Liverpool, Man City, Man United, Newcastle, Norwich, QPR, Stoke, Sunderland, Swansea, Tottenham, West Brom, Wigan and Wolves.

I think it’s going to be a really tight season yet again. The race for the top four – and ultimately the Premier League crown – will be tight. There’s at least six teams vying for those spots and I think the relegation battle will go down to the wire yet again.

As a Manchester United fan I hope we can retain our title. I think it’s possible we can; we’ve strengthened our team, we have people who can score goals and our defence seems solid so far. Time will tell whether De Gea is the real deal or not. As good as he was for Atletico Madrid, being in the Premier League is an entirely different animal and so is playing for Manchester United. Chelsea, Man City, Arsenal, Liverpool and Spurs will run it close I’m sure but as a United fan, I reckon we’ll take the title. I’d hardly bet against anyone else, quite frankly.

I can’t wait to see how the three new teams do – QPR, Norwich and Swansea. I’m not entirely sure if they’re going to survive one season, and part of me reckons at least two of them will get relegated, but I’m happy to be proven wrong. It’ll be interesting to see which team really proves their worth in the Premier League, every time a new season starts, one of the promoted teams go on a brilliant run.

I can’t wait for the season to begin. For the ups and downs that will come, for the managers that will inevitably fall (I wonder who’ll be out the door first this season?), for the final day transfers (Cesc Fabregas, anyone?), for the star players that burst onto the scene like Gareth Bale did in the Champions League last year. One thing’s for sure, it’ll be a roller-coaster, one I can’t wait to ride!

My top four: United, City, Chelsea, Arsenal

My three relegated teams: Swansea, Norwich, Wolves.

One thought on “Premier League 2011/2012 Preview

  1. Interesting view – a lot of people seem to have written Swansea off but I think they’re better equipped than QPR.

Leave a Reply

