Something Borrowed

Rachel (Ginnifer Goodwin) is a talented attorney at a top New York law firm, a generous and loyal friend, and, unhappily, still single-as her engaged best friend Darcy (Kate Hudson) is constantly reminding her. But after celebrating her 30th birthday, perpetual good girl Rachel unexpectedly ends up in the arms of the guy she’s had a crush on since law school, Dex (Colin Egglesfield)…who just happens to be Darcy’s fiancé. As one thing leads to another in the frantic weeks leading up to Darcy’s wedding, Rachel finds herself in an impossible situation, caught between her treasured friendship with Darcy and the love of her life. Meanwhile, Ethan (John Krasinski), Rachel’s constant confidante and sometimes conscience, is busy evading the affection of Darcy’s hopelessly love-struck friend Claire (Ashley Williams) while harboring a secret crush of his own; and the charming and irrepressible Marcus (Steve Howey) has designs on Rachel that don’t necessarily exclude any other woman who catches his eye.

Something Borrowed is one of my favourite books ever. Ask me to name my top 5 books and Something Borrowed would probably be top. Emily Giffin somehow managed to convey the entire novel without being too over the top and Rachel’s narrative helped massively when it came to explaining how she and Dex ended up in bed. Together. Despite the fact Dex is engaged to Rachel’s best friend Darcy. So when I heard it was being made into a movie I was sooooo excited. When I saw the trailer I loved it and it looked as if, for once, a movie adaptation had stuck closely to the book. I was dying to watch it and it’s taken me a while but wow.

As a comparison to the book, Something Borrowed the movie isn’t as good. The book can explain it all better than a movie ever can but I still liked the movie version. I loved who was chosen to portray Rachel, Darcy, Dex and Ethan. Ginnifer Goodwin was brilliant as Rachel, seriously. Darcy was as obnoxious as I expected and Kate Hudson played her insanely well. In fact Darcy seemed more obnoxious in the movie than she was in the book(!). Colin Egglesfield was a good Dex; he managed to get Dex just right without me wanting to clobber him. But the real star of the movie, for me anyway, was John Krasinski. OH MY GOD. He was AWESOME as Ethan. His “I’m gay” speech to Claire was ridiculously funny. Seriously, he needed a bigger role. I want Something Blue to be made, just for Ethan to be back again. John Krasinski is comedy gold. A lot of people watching the movie probably wondered why Rachel was even friends with Darcy (seriously, Darcy is evil) but if you’ve read the book it makes sense. The movie doesn’t really explain their friendship except for a token look at pictures of them as youngsters at Rachel’s 30th birthday party.

There were a lot of book/movie differences. No Hillary for one. Scenes were moved around. Ethan was in America for most of the movie, whereas he was based in England in the novel all the time. But most of the pivotal scenes were there. The 4th July weekend, the end was almost a carbon-copy of the book and was executed brilliantly. Although how Darcy found out about Darcy/Dex was changed (I was gutted, actually, as the book reveal was MUCH better). As far as movie adaptations go, this was a good one. Not as good as the book – books are always hard to beat, but a good enough job. I’m not entirely sure the whole Rachel/Dex thing came off as well as it did in the book but because I’ve read the book it’s hard to tell because I KNEW why they were together, knew their feelings for each other.

I hope they make Something Blue. Darcy is MILES better in Something Blue. But if they make Something Blue then they must have Rachel and Dex in it more than they are in the book. Seriously. The book was horribly Rachel/Dex free for a loooooong time. The only character I didn’t like in the movie was Claire. She was a total bunny boiler. Yikes. My favourite scene was the badminton scene. It’s in the trailer when Rachel whacks Ethan with the badminton bat. It was hilarious. Oh and Emily Giffin’s cameo was priceless. Seriously. Emily Giffin was sat on a bench reading an EMILY GIFFIN NOVEL IN AN EMILY GIFFIN BASED FILM. Ha totally brilliant. I LOVE when they do that. I’m glad I watched the movie. I would watch it again and I thought it was a very decent book/movie adaptation.

Leave a Reply

