Reading Slump

So far in 2011, I have read and finished 83 books. According to GoodReads I am 11% (21 books) ahead of my scheduled target to read 175 books during 2011 but so far in May I’ve only finished five books. I don’t know why but for some reason I’m in a bit of a reading slump. It happens. If I read too many Chick Lit books I’ll get fed up of them, which happened last year, but this time I just don’t want to read anything. I’m 20% in the seventh Stephanie Plum book Seven Up and although I’m enjoying it, I’m just not ‘feeling’ it. I’m hoping that’ll change tonight when I read a bit more of it.

I think the problem at the minute is that I’m waiting on some books in the mail. Books I desperately want to read. I mean it took 16 days (!) for Lisa Jewell’s new one to arrive and I ended up not being able to review it because I didn’t receive it in time. I’m still waiting for Something Borrowed (12 days & counting) and there are other reviews books I need to receive ASAP because otherwise I won’t be able to review them. And I have to admit, that gets me down, not receiving books in time to review them. It isn’t fair. Lisa’s book was stamped ‘First Class’ but it still took 16 days, that’s unacceptable. Just when I thought the Correos was sorting out the postage in Tenerife, this happens. I’ve been waiting for Wanted by Sara Shepard for 16 days now and it still isn’t here. It’s getting to the point where I’m not angry about the waiting time, I’m just fed up.

I think this week off from books could be beneficial. Sometimes it is nice to just not read. I put too much pressure on myself to finish books the same day I start them and I end up reading so many books that I can’t tell where one book ends and another begins. I’ve started a new book now, Daddy’s Girls by Tasmina Perry and I’m hoping to continue it and then motor on with some other books I’ve been dying to read (there are loads which doesn’t help, really, because which do I read first?!). Here’s hoping this is just a teeny, tiny blip, because well, I couldn’t be a very good book reviewer if I didn’t read the books! I want to read a book that will blow my socks off, but I can’t think of one that might just do that.

Leave a Reply

