Schalke 04 vs Manchester United

So, er, you know how I was quietly confident about our game against Schalke? Well there was no need for the quiet. Confident, absolutely, I could and should have shouted my confidence from the rooftops. We were utterly amazing. We dominated from start to finish, we had about 50 chances and eventually we scored twice to win 2-0, taking two away goals back to Old Trafford.

Schalke were poor, only their goalkeeper showed any real promise. It definitely begged the question of how on Earth Schalke managed to absolutely stuff Inter Milan in the quarter-finals. Clearly, Inter are either incredibly crap or they just had a really really off match. Or two. I’m so thrilled with our performance tonight, we’re finally dominating games and pressing well and defending well and we bossed the midfield. It’s the kind of performance I love to watch, and it’ll give us great confidence going into the Arsenal game on Sunday.

So, yep, up next is Arsenal on Sunday. Historically we’re rather sluggish after Champions League games but I think we’ll be confident and buoyant going into the game. We’re high on confidence, we’re winning and with any luck that will carry us through Sunday’s game. Everything is clicking into gear. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think we’re going to beat Arsenal, I’m not that confident but I am more confident.

In other news, I bought myself Paul Merson’s book today How Not To Be A Professional Footballer. I’m so looking forward to reading it. I love Paul on Soccer Saturday and I’m looking forward to learning more about his life as a footballer. I know he’s had drink/drug/women problems and I can’t wait to read his whole story. I also got Revenge of the Spellmans and Curse of the Spellmans (yaaaaaaaaaay, I’ll be reading these two as soon as they come!).

Leave a Reply

