This Week I’m Watching…. The Good Wife

I watch a lot of American TV shows, and when I say a lot I mean a lot. I generally collect up many episodes for each show and then watch them all in one go. Last week I watched a load of White Collar, and this week I finally decided to watch the second season of The Good Wife.

I absolutely loved season one of The Good Wife, the cast is brilliant and each and every episode was an absolute joy to watch. Julianna Margulies is brilliant as Alicia Florrick and was an inspired choice to play her. My personal favourite character though was Kalinda, played by Archie Panjabi, who is an investigator at Lockhart/Gardner. So I must admit, I’ve been incredibly reluctant to watch the second season in the worry it just wouldn’t live up to the standard of the first season.

I was wrong, and The Good Wife has managed to keep up the pace of season one, it’s managed to keep up the brilliant episodes and I’m seriously impressed. At the end of season one Cary moved from Lockhart/Gardener to the prosecutors office and that was an amazing thing to do because we still see a lot of him, but we get to explore what it is to work for the other side. Obviously, I don’t want to give anything away in case anyone watches it, so this paragraph probably doesn’t make sense and you’re thinking ‘Cary who?’.

It’s the perfect show for people who adore American TV shows like I do, even more so if you like a good show about lawyers. I’m definitely looking forward to watching the rest of season two and seeing how it all pans out! It even has the best cast stars as Michael J Fox joins the show for a few episodes on season two and he’s brilliant. Honestly, if you haven’t watched this show then I urge you to. It is brilliant, sheer brilliance.

If you’re wondering about what The Good Wife is about here you go:

The storyline focuses on Alicia Florrick (Julianna Margulies), the wife of Peter Florrick (Chris Noth). Peter, a former Cook County state’s attorney, has been jailed following a very public sex and corruption scandal. Alicia returns to her old job as a litigator to rebuild her reputation and provide for her two children. The series was partly inspired by the Eliot Spitzer prostitution scandal, as well as by other prominent American political sex scandals, particularly those of John Edwards and Bill Clinton:

Leave a Reply

