The Amazon Kindle

Because I’m a book reviewer, it stands to rights that I read a lot of books. So far in 2011 I’ve read 18 books, I managed 162 in 2010 and 119 in 2009, which means I have a lot of books on my bookshelves. So when I saw Amazon Kindle was coming to the UK site I was thrilled — it meant I could buy myself an e-reader. Turns out, I was wrong. Because I live in Tenerife I can’t buy a UK Kindle, I need to go to the USA Amazon site. Because for some unknown reason, you can only buy a Kindle off Amazon.co.uk if you live in the UK. And then! Even if you buy a Kindle from the good ol’ US of A, you can’t buy Kindle books from Amazon.co.uk and have to revert to Amazon.com to do so but the problem with that is, USA Kindle books are way more expensive than UK ones.

Surely Amazon.co.uk should cater not only to UK customers but to Europe as well? I don’t live in Outer Mongolia, I live in the Canary Islands. It’s a ridiculous policy because surely Amazon would make a lot more money if they could strike a deal to allow Europeans to buy Kindles and Kindle books. Because I refuse to pay an extortionate amount of money for a Kindle and books from the US store. Why would I want to pay over the odds for an e-book when I can buy the paperback version cheaper? I wouldn’t, and I’m sure a lot of other people feel the same way.

It’s very much a ridiculous policy, and one I hope Amazon fixes sometime in the near future. Because believe me, as soon as I can buy a Kindle from the UK Amazon store I will, with pleasure. But for now, I’ll just stick to my real books because it’s just not worth my money. And that’s a shame because I would love a Kindle, it looks brilliant and it’s undoubtedly one of the electronics for the future. It’s just a shame Amazon’s policy doesn’t allow Europeans to buy from the UK store.

Leave a Reply

